Mayawati has been seen as a strong contender for Prime Minister seat against Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi. She has been giving bold statements by criticizing PM Modi and shunning away Rahul Gandhi from SP-BSP-RLD alliance.

However, her declaration that she won’t be fighting upcoming Lok Sabha elections has left her supporters confused. She told reporters in Lucknow that, she will not contest for general elections. Instead, she will campaign for candidates of her BSP and ally Samajwadi Party.

Her tweet has now clarified all the confusions. She said, “When I became UP CM first time in 1995 I was not member of either UP Assembly or Council. Similarly is provision at the Centre where a person have to be a LS/RS member within 6 months of holding office of minister/PM. Don’t disheartened from my decision not to contest LS poll now.”

This means is not out of the race of Prime-ministership for 17th Lok Sabha of India. It is to note that the Indian Constitution lists down how a person can become Prime Minister. He/She is either selected from the party/alliance having majority of votes. But, if the person doesn’t come from Lok Sabha or Rajya Sabha he/she should be elected to one of the house withing six months of his/her appointment as PM.

Similarly, Mayawati was elected as Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1995. She was neither part of Assembly nor council. During this tenure, new districts of Ambedkar Nagar and Udham Singh Nagar were created.

For 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Mayawati’s party BSP has made alliance with SP and RLD to fight elections in Uttar Pradesh which has 80 seats. She has already declared that they will not ally with Congress. She earlier mentioned that her alliance with SP is perfect to defeat BJP in elections and that too especially in UP. However, BJP won in this state with majority seats during 2014 elections.

Still, BSP was third largest party in 2014 elections in matters of voting percentage. Also, SP had won 7 seats in the UP while BSP stood at 0. BJP also has good numbers in the state and won 71 seats in 2014. However, if vote percentage is to be kept in mind then the combination of SP and BSP makes it up to 41.8% according to 2014 stats. It will be interesting to see how the results turn out and who will be the next PM of India. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here