BJP has joined the list of other parties those have announced the names of candidates who will be contesting for Lok Sabha elections next month. The names announced in this list are mostly of those who will fight elections on 11th April.

Narendra Modi will be fighting from Varanasi. He fought for 2014 elections from Varanasi and Vaodara and won both. He got 5,81,022 votes in Varanasi at that time while AAP leader Kejriwal got more than 2 lakhs from the same seat.

BJP president Amit Shah will be fighting from Gandhinagar which is in Gujarat. It is to note that BJP leader LK Advani fought elections from this seat 5 years ago and also became MP. Actually, Advani has been Member of Parliament from this seat for past 5 terms since 1998. In 2014 he had got 7,73,539 votes from this seat. It is being predicted that this marks end of Advani’s political career. On the other hand, Amit Shah is member of Rajya Sabha.

Smriti Zubin Irani will be contesting from Amethi. This is an important seat for Congress. Rahul Gandhi fought for 2014 elections from here and secured 4,08,651 votes while Irani got 300748 votes. There are in total 16,69,843 voters in Amethi.

Rajnath Singh will be contesting from Uttar Pradesh’s Lucknow seat for this elections. He is currently Home Minister of India. Lucknow is the capital of Uttar Pradesh from where BJP has been winning from past 7 terms. Atal Bihari Vajpayee has won from this seat for 5 terms. In 2014 elections Rajnath got 5,61,106 votes while Congress leader Bahuguna Joshi got 2,88,357 votes.

Nitin Gadkari who will be contesting from Nagpur. He is currently Minister for Road Transport & Highways and remains in news for criticizing his own party’s Narendra Modi. He fought elections in 2014 from this seat only and won.

BJP has announced names of other key candidates also. The party has announced names of 184 candidates who will be fighting for general elections. More than 25 MPs have been dropped in the first list. Some leaders are not happy due to seat distribution. BJP MP Shyama Charan Gupta will be contesting general elections from Samajwadi party’s side.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here